Records Management Association of Australasia

Minutes of the
28th Annual General Meeting of the Records Management
Association of Australasia
Convened at Crown Entertainment Complex, Melbourne
Tuesday 16th September 2003

Meeting Opened: 4:11 p.m.

28.1 Attendance

As per the attendance register

28.2 Apologies

Jan Fisher – ACT Deidre Wogan – NZ Gillian Ratcliffe – NZ Alison Midwinter – NZ Robert Hynson – NZ Jackie Siepen - QLD

28.3 Proxies

Nil

28.4 Minutes of Previous Meeting

The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 14 September 2002 having been circulated are submitted for confirmation.

It is **Recommended** that the Minutes be taken as read and confirmed.

DECISION:

Mike Steemson Moved/Ray Holswich Seconded: That the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 14 September 2002 be taken as read and confirmed. CARRIED

28.5 Business Arising from the Previous Meeting

There was no business identified as arising from previous meetings.

28.6 Receive the Report of the President on the activities of the Company in the preceding year

The National President will provide a report on the activities of the Company for the year ending 30 June 2003.

It is **Recommended** that the Annual Report of the RMAA for the period ending 30 June 2003 be received.

DECISION:

Chris Fripp Moved/Jeanette Inglis Seconded: That the Annual Report of the RMAA for the period ending 30 June 2003 be received. CARRIED

28.7 Financial Report

The National Treasurer will report on the audited statements of accounts and the report from the Auditor for the period ending 30 June 2003.

It is **<u>Recommended</u>** that the duly audited statements of accounts and the report from the Auditors be received.

DECISION:

Thomas Kaufhold Moved/David Moldrich Seconded: That the duly audited statements of accounts for the period ending 30 June 2003 and the report from the Auditors be received. **CARRIED**

28.8 Appointment of Auditor

It is **Recommended** that BKR Walker Wayland be appointed for the year ending 30 June 2004.

DECISION:

Thomas Kaufhold Move/Stephanie Ciempka Seconded: That BKR Walker Wayland be appointed for the year ending 30 June 2004. CARRIED

28.9 Other Business

28.9.1 Amendment of Constitution

Following the Special General Meeting held on 9 May 2003, the following motion was listed for the Annual General Meeting:

<u>Eddis Linton Moved/Lesley Ferguson Seconded: That</u> the Constitution be amended to state that the sitting President be limited to a term of six (6) consecutive years.

DECISION:

<u>Eddis Linton Moved/Lesley Ferguson Seconded: That</u> the Constitution be amended to state that the sitting President be limited to a term of six (6) consecutive years. <u>CARRIED</u>

28.9.2 Appointment of Executive Officer

Anne Cornish asked about the appointment of the Executive Officer. Chris Fripp advised that Kate Walker had been appointed and outlined the process taken. He further stated that an official announcement would be contained within the next edition of the InfoRMAA Quarterly.

Anne queried how Kate's membership would be affected in relation to receiving payment from the Association.

The President advised that the constitution states:

17.3. Nothing herein contained shall prevent payment of remuneration or expenses to any Board Member of the Company or other person in return for any service rendered to the Company or prevent the payment of interest at a rate not exceeding the maximum rate chargeable from time to time by the bankers for the Company on overdraft accommodation or prevent the payment of reasonable and property rent for the premises demised or let to the Company by any member of the Company.

Therefore, Kate's membership will remain current and valid.

28.9.3 Membership Upgrade Guidelines

Chris Colwell asked the National President as to the progress of rewriting the membership upgrade criteria. The President advised that several workshops had been held by various Branches and comments and suggestions were currently being collated to be included in the next update.

28.10 Declaration of Nation Board Directors

The following are declared National Board Members:

NSW Chris Fripp TAS Currently vacant VIC Peter Gaca ACT Thomas Kaufhold Kemal Hasandedic QLD NT Lyn Kickett WA Lesley Ferguson Kristen Keley SA ΝZ Helen Hancox

28.11 Declaration of National Executive

The Returning Officer, Kate Walker advised the National Executive for the year 2003/2004 were:

President Chris Fripp
Vice President Kristen Keley
Treasurer Thomas Kaufhold

28.12 Close of Meeting

There being no further business, the President declared the meeting closed at 4:42 p.m.

Chris Fripp Kate Walker
President Executive Officer
Date: 20 August 2003 Date: 20 August 2003